Direct thermal labels
Key facts

Direct thermal labels carry a heat-sensitive coating that the printhead darkens directly. No ribbon is needed, which saves consumables and changeover work. The trade-off is a more sensitive image: for its Z-Perform 1000D direct thermal paper, Zebra advises against long exposure to sunlight and extreme heat. According to the shop, the OPAL paper kits are intended for short-term labelling, for example shipping labels.
The kits differ in format, number of labels per roll and material. For desktop printers there are paper kits from 50.8 x 25.4 mm to 99 x 148 mm; for mobile printers there is the mobile D kit in direct thermal film with a removable adhesive on a 19 mm core. The shop does not state core and outer diameter for every kit. Please check these values against your printer’s data before ordering.
- Shipping labels and parcel labels
- Picking and goods-in labels in the warehouse
- Labels from mobile printers (mobile D kit)
- Indoor labelling with a short service life
- Rating plates and permanent marking: Thermal transfer labels and ribbons
- Freezer and cryogenic storage: Freezer and cryo labels
- Processes without liner waste: Linerless labels
- Asset labelling with tamper evidence: Security and asset labels
Detailed specifications
| Kit A | Kit K | Kit mobile D | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Face material | Thermo Top paper, white | same as left | direct thermal film, white |
| Print method | direct thermal, no ribbon | same as left | same as left |
| Format | 50.8 x 25.4 mm | 99 x 148 mm | 76.2 x 50.8 mm |
| Adhesive | permanent | same as left | removable, acrylic-based |
| Labels per roll | 1,500 | 400 | 300 |
| Rolls per box | 5 | 5 | 12 |
| Core diameter | 25 mm | not specified | 19 mm |
| Outer diameter | 110 mm | not specified | max. 60 mm |
| Winding | not specified | not specified | wound outside |
| Perforation | after each label | same as left | not specified |
| Resistance according to the shop | for short-term labelling | same as left | good UV stability, water-resistant |
| Temperature range | not specified | same as left | same as left |
| Special feature | not specified | for parcel shipping labels | free of BPA and BPS |
| Printers according to the shop | list incl. Argox, Sato, Toshiba Tec, Zebra and OPAL OD5/OD9 | same as left, incl. Zebra GK420 and GX420 | most mobile printers |
| Article number | OPAL-A | OPAL-K | OPAL-mobile D |
Source: manufacturer data sheets and product pages, as of October 2026. Subject to change; individual variants may differ. Prices and delivery times are available in the shop.
Variants and accessories
| Kit | Format | Material | Contents per box | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A | 50.8 x 25.4 mm | Thermo Top paper | 5 rolls of 1,500 | core 25 mm, outer diameter 110 mm |
| AA | 50.8 x 25.4 mm | Thermo Top paper | 3 rolls of 2,650 | more labels per roll than kit A |
| D | 76.2 x 50.8 mm | Thermo Top paper | 4 rolls of 1,000 | perforated after each label |
| DD | 76.2 x 50.8 mm | Thermo Top paper | 3 rolls of 1,400 | more labels per roll than kit D |
| G | 101.6 x 76.2 mm | Thermo Top paper | 4 rolls of 650 | not specified |
| K | 99 x 148 mm | Thermo Top paper | 5 rolls of 400 | for shipping labels |
| KK | 99 x 148 mm | direct thermal, paper type not specified | not specified | for short-term labelling |
| mobile D | 76.2 x 50.8 mm | direct thermal film | 12 rolls of 300 | core 19 mm, for mobile printers |
Goes well with
- Printers for direct thermal and thermal transfer: Label printers
- OPAL OD series label printers: the OD5 and OD9 appear in the kits’ printer list
- Rolls without liner: Linerless labels
- Manage layouts and print data centrally: OPAL Labelmanagement™
- Custom formats, samples and advice: Labels and consumables
Direct thermal or thermal transfer?
| Direct thermal | Thermal transfer | |
|---|---|---|
| Ribbon | not needed | needed, matched to the material (wax, wax/resin or resin) |
| How the image is formed | heat-sensitive coating darkens | ink is transferred from the ribbon to the label |
| Materials in the shop | Thermo Top paper, direct thermal film, linerless | paper, PE film, coated polypropylene, silver film |
| Durability | Zebra Z-Perform 1000D: up to 1 year indoors according to the manufacturer | depends on ribbon and material; according to Zebra, resin ribbons offer high chemical and temperature resistance |
| Typical use | shipping, picking, goods-in, mobile printers | rating plates, assets, laboratory and freezer, product marking |
| Consumables | labels only | labels and ribbon |
Direct thermal fits when the label has a short life and the process should stay simple: shipping, picking, labels from a mobile printer. If the print has to withstand light, heat, abrasion or chemicals for longer, thermal transfer with the right ribbon is the better choice. Whether your printer supports both methods is stated in the printer’s data sheet. Go to thermal transfer labels and ribbons
What OPAL adds
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a ribbon for direct thermal labels?
No. The printhead creates the image directly in the label’s heat-sensitive coating. Set the printer or printer driver to direct thermal.
How long does the print stay legible?
According to the shop, the OPAL paper kits are intended for short-term labelling; the shop does not state a service life in months. For comparison, Zebra states up to one year indoors for its Z-Perform 1000D direct thermal paper and advises against long exposure to sunlight, extreme heat and PVC surfaces. For permanent marking, choose thermal transfer.
Will the kits fit my printer?
What matters are print width, core diameter and the largest roll diameter your printer accepts. According to the shop, kit A has a 25 mm core and an outer diameter of 110 mm, the mobile D kit a 19 mm core and a maximum of 60 mm. The shop pages also list compatible printers, including the Zebra GK420 and GX420 and the OPAL OD5 and OD9. If a value is missing, ask us before ordering.
What is the difference between kit A and kit AA?
Both have the format 50.8 x 25.4 mm and are made of Thermo Top paper. Kit A contains 5 rolls of 1,500 labels, kit AA 3 rolls of 2,650 labels. More labels per roll means a larger roll diameter; the shop does not state the outer diameter of kit AA, so check it against your printer.
Can I use direct thermal labels in chilled or frozen areas?
The shop does not state a temperature range for the OPAL paper kits. For Z-Perform 1000D, Zebra states a minimum application temperature of 0 °C and a service range of -20 °C to 80 °C. Freezer and cryogenic storage call for dedicated materials: Freezer and cryo labels.
Are other formats or materials available?
Yes. The kits come from OPAL’s in-house label printing shop, which also produces custom formats and special adhesives. Describe your requirement in the label request form or read more under Labels and consumables.
Data sheets and manufacturer information
The manufacturer provides data sheets, user guides and configuration guides on the product page. We are also happy to send you the documents directly.
Suitable alternatives



